Tales of a Fourth Grade Nothing

by Judy Blume (Author)

Book Cover for Tales of a Fourth Grade Nothing

   Book 1   
Pages: 124

Life with his little brother, Fudge, makes Peter Hatcher feel like a fourth grade nothing. Whether Fudge is throwing a temper tantrum in a shoe store, smearing mashed potatoes on the walls at Hamburger Heaven, or trying to fly, he’s never far from trouble. He’s an almost three-year-old terror who gets away with everything, and Peter’s had it up to here!

When Fudge walks off with Dribble, Peter’s pet turtle, it’s the last straw. Peter has put up with Fudge for too long. Way too long! How can he get his parents to pay attention to him for a change, instead of his bratty little brother?

Recognition: Charlie May Simon Children's Book Award (1974); Sequoyah Book Award (1975); Pacific Northwest Library Association Young Reader's Choice Award (1975); Grand Canyon Reader Award (1977); Massachusetts Children's Book Award (1977); West Australian Young Readers' Book Award (WAYRBA) for Younger Readers (1980)

Fudge Series—Summary and Book Order

Series: Fudge
Reading level: 7+
Books in series: 5
Read in order? Yes
Next release: Finished
Tags: humour  family  friendship  school  realistic fiction 

 Print series book list

Books in series order

1.   Tales of a Fourth Grade Nothing  (1972)
2.   Otherwise Known as Sheila the Great  (1972)
3.   Superfudge  (1980)
4.   Fudge-a-Mania  (1990)
5.   Double Fudge  (2002)