by Anne McCaffrey (Contributor) Robert Silverberg (Editor)

Book Cover for Legends

   Book 18   
Pages: 715

Acclaimed writer and editor Robert Silverberg gathered eleven of the finest writers in Fantasy to contribute to this collection of short novels. Each of the writers was asked to write a new story based on one of his or her most famous series: from Stephen King's opening piece set in his popular Gunslinger universe to Robert Jordan's early look at his famed Wheel of Time saga, these stories are exceptionally well written and universally well told. The authors include King, Jordan, and Silverberg himself, as well as Terry and Lyn Pratchett, Terry Goodkind, Orson Scott Card, Ursula K. Le Guin, Tad Williams, George R.R. Martin, Anne McCaffrey, and Raymond E. Feist.

Note: The story in this collection that belongs to the Pern series is called 'Runner of Pern' and is set shortly before the Ninth Pass. It tells of a runner (messenger), Tenna, who is new to the role but skilled. One night, when she is running on the "trace" (paths marked by moss that are reserved for runners only), a cart pulled by runner beasts runs her off the trace. Tenna falls into a stickleberry bush, and her body is pierced by many potentially poisonous spines. After she recovers, she endeavours to find out who caused her accident by illegally using the path.

Note: The short story 'Runner of Pern' can also be found in a later collection, 'A Gift of Dragons' (Book 20), together with three other short stories that form part of this series (but are also published in other books); namely, 'The Smallest Dragonboy' (in 'Get Off the Unicorn'), 'The Girl Who Heard Dragons' (in the 'Girl Who Heard Dragons'), and 'Ever the Twain' (in 'A Gift of Dragons').

Recognition: Locus Award for Best Anthology (1999), World Fantasy Award Nominee for Best Anthology (1999), ALA Alex Award (1999)

Pern Series—Summary and Book Order

Series: Pern
Reading level: 11+
Books in series: 29
Read in order? Yes
Next release: Finished
Tags: fantasy  science fiction  dragon  adventure 

 Print series book list

Books in series order

1.   Dragonflight  (1968)
2.   Dragonquest  (1971)
3.   Dragonsong  (1976)
4.   Dragonsinger  (1977)
5.   Get Off the Unicorn  (1977)
6.   The White Dragon  (1978)
7.   Dragondrums  (1979)
8.   Moreta: Dragonlady of Pern  (1983)
9.   Nerilka's Story  (1984)
10.   Dragonsdawn  (1988)
11.   The Dragonlover's Guide to Pern  (1989)
12.   The Renegades of Pern  (1989)
13.   All The Weyrs of Pern  (1991)
14.   The Chronicles of Pern: First Fall  (1993)
15.   The Girl Who Heard Dragons  (1996)
16.   Dragonseye  (1996)
17.   The Masterharper of Pern  (1998)
18.   Legends  (1999)
19.   The Skies of Pern  (2001)
20.   A Gift of Dragons  (2002)
21.   Dragon's Kin  (2003)
22.   Legends II: Dragon, Sword, and King  (2004)
23.   Dragonsblood  (2005)
24.   Dragon's Fire  (2006)
25.   Dragon Harper  (2007)
26.   Dragonheart  (2008)
27.   Dragongirl  (2010)
28.   Dragon's Time  (2011)
29.   Sky Dragons  (2012)