The Girl Who Heard Dragons

by Anne McCaffrey (Author) Michael Whelan (Illustrator)

Book Cover for The Girl Who Heard Dragons

   Book 15   
Pages: 352

A compilation of 15 interlinked stories, with twenty-four beautiful black and white illustrations by award-winning artist Michael Whelan.

In the title story, Pernese teenager Aramina has the unusual ability to hear dragons, all the dragons, even though she has not impressed herself. Her family, however, are "holdless", on the run from bandits, and afraid Aramina will desert them if she impresses and becomes a dragonrider. Instead, Aramina finds that she can exploit her unique talent without sacrificing the family she loves.

This collection of stories includes: The Girl Who Heard Dragons, Velvet Fields, Euterpe On a Fling, Duty Calls, A Sleeping Humpty Dumpty Beauty, The Mandalay Cure, A Flock of Geese, The Greatest Love, A Quiet One, If Madam Likes You..., Zulei, Grace, Nimshi, and the Damnyankees, Cinderella Switch, Habit is an Old Horse, Lady-in-Waiting, and The Bones Do Lie.

Note: The short story, 'The Girl Who Heard Dragons' can also be found in a later collection, 'A Gift of Dragons' (Book 20), together with three other short stories that form part of this series but are also published in other books.

Pern Series—Summary and Book Order

Series: Pern
Reading level: 11+
Books in series: 29
Read in order? Yes
Next release: Finished
Tags: fantasy  science fiction  dragon  adventure 

 Print series book list

Books in series order

1.   Dragonflight  (1968)
2.   Dragonquest  (1971)
3.   Dragonsong  (1976)
4.   Dragonsinger  (1977)
5.   Get Off the Unicorn  (1977)
6.   The White Dragon  (1978)
7.   Dragondrums  (1979)
8.   Moreta: Dragonlady of Pern  (1983)
9.   Nerilka's Story  (1984)
10.   Dragonsdawn  (1988)
11.   The Dragonlover's Guide to Pern  (1989)
12.   The Renegades of Pern  (1989)
13.   All The Weyrs of Pern  (1991)
14.   The Chronicles of Pern: First Fall  (1993)
15.   The Girl Who Heard Dragons  (1996)
16.   Dragonseye  (1996)
17.   The Masterharper of Pern  (1998)
18.   Legends  (1999)
19.   The Skies of Pern  (2001)
20.   A Gift of Dragons  (2002)
21.   Dragon's Kin  (2003)
22.   Legends II: Dragon, Sword, and King  (2004)
23.   Dragonsblood  (2005)
24.   Dragon's Fire  (2006)
25.   Dragon Harper  (2007)
26.   Dragonheart  (2008)
27.   Dragongirl  (2010)
28.   Dragon's Time  (2011)
29.   Sky Dragons  (2012)