by Scott Westerfeld (Author) Keith Thompson (Illustrator)

Book Cover for Behemoth

   Book 2   
Pages: 485

The behemoth is the fiercest creature in the British navy. It can swallow enemy battleships with one bite. The Darwinists will need it, now that they are at war with the Clanker powers. Deryn is a girl posing as a boy in the British Air Service, and Alek is the heir to an empire posing as a commoner. Finally together aboard the airship Leviathan, they hope to bring the war to a halt. But when disaster strikes the Leviathan's peacekeeping mission, they find themselves alone and hunted in enemy territory. Alek and Deryn will need great skill, new allies, and brave hearts to face what's ahead.

Recognition: Locus Award Nominee for Best Young Adult Book (2011); Goodreads Choice Award Nominee for Young Adult Fantasy (2010); Children's Book Council of Australia Notable Book for Older Readers (2011); Andre Norton Award Nominee for Young Adult Science Fiction and Fantasy (2010)

Leviathan Series—Summary and Book Order

Series: Leviathan
Reading level: 12+
Books in series: 4
Read in order? Yes
Next release: Finished
Tags: fantasy  adventure  science fiction  steampunk  war 

 Print series book list

Books in series order

1.   Leviathan  (2009)
2.   Behemoth  (2010)
3.   Goliath  (2011)
+   The Manual of Aeronautics: An Illustrated Guide to the Leviathan Series  (2012)