by Scott Westerfeld (Author) Keith Thompson (Illustrator)

Book Cover for Leviathan

   Book 1   
Pages: 448

It is 1914 and Europe is on the verge of war. Prince Aleksander, would-be heir to the Austro-Hungarian throne, is on the run. His own people have turned on him. His title is worthless. All he has is a battletorn war machine and a loyal crew of men. Deryn Sharp is a commoner, disguised as a boy in the British Air Service. She's a brilliant airman. But her secret is in constant danger of being discovered. With World War I brewing, Alek and Deryn's paths cross in the most unexpected way, taking them on a fantastical, around-the-world adventure that will change both their lives forever.

Recognition: Locus Award for Best Young Adult Book (2010); An ALA Notable Children's Book for Older Readers (2010); Queensland Premier's Literary Awards Nominee for Young Adult Book Award (2010); Goodreads Choice Award for Science Fiction (2009); Aurealis Award for Young Adult Novel (2009); Pennsylvania Young Readers' Choice Award YA Nominee (2011)

Leviathan Series—Summary and Book Order

Series: Leviathan
Reading level: 12+
Books in series: 4
Read in order? Yes
Next release: Finished
Website: www.scottwesterfeld.com/books/leviathan
Tags: fantasy  adventure  science fiction  steampunk  war 

 Print series book list

Books in series order

1.   Leviathan  (2009)
2.   Behemoth  (2010)
3.   Goliath  (2011)
+   The Manual of Aeronautics: An Illustrated Guide to the Leviathan Series  (2012)