Persepolis Volume 2: The Story of a Return

by Marjane Satrapi (Author/Cartoonist)

Book Cover for Persepolis Volume 2: The Story of a Return

   Book 2   
Pages: 188

In Persepolis, Marjane Satrapi dazzled us with her heartrending memoir-in-comic-strips about growing up in Iran during the Islamic Revolution. Here is the continuation of her fascinating story.

In 1984, Marjane flees fundamentalism and the war with Iraq to begin a new life in Vienna. Once there, she faces the trials of adolescence far from her friends and family, and while she soon carves out a place for herself among a group of fellow outsiders, she continues to struggle for a sense of belonging.

Finding that she misses her home more than she can stand, Marjane returns to Iran after graduation. Her difficult homecoming forces her to confront the changes both she and her country have undergone in her absence and her shame at what she perceives as her failure in Austria. Marjane allows her past to weigh heavily on her until she finds some like-minded friends, falls in love, and begins studying art at a university. However, the repression and state-sanctioned chauvinism eventually lead her to question whether she can have a future in Iran.

As funny and poignant as its predecessor, the sequel to Persepolis is another clear-eyed and searing condemnation of the human cost of fundamentalism. In its depiction of the struggles of growing up—here compounded by Marjane's status as an outsider both abroad and at home—it is raw, honest, and incredibly illuminating.

Persepolis Series—Summary and Book Order

Series: Persepolis
Reading level: 14+
Books in series: 2
Read in order? Yes
Next release: Finished
Tags: graphic novel  non fiction  culture  religion  historical  comedy & humour 

 Print series book list

Books in series order

1.   Persepolis Volume 1: The Story of a Childhood  (2000)
2.   Persepolis Volume 2: The Story of a Return  (2002)