The Ryan Hart Series

by Renée Watson (Author) Niña Mata (Illustrator)

Book Cover for the Ryan Hart Series
Reading level: Ages 7 and up
Books in series: 4
Read in order: Yes
Tags: family  friendship  school  realistic fiction  illustrated 

From Newbery Honor and Coretta Scott King Author Award winner Renée Watson comes a young middle grade series about Ryan Hart, a girl who is pure spirit, kindness, and sunshine.

Ryan is all about trying to see the best in people, to be a good daughter, a good sister, a good friend. But even if her life isn't everything she would wish for, when her big brother is infuriating, her parents don't quite understand, and the unexpected happens, she always finds a way forward, with grace and wit. And plenty of sunshine.

Acclaimed author Renée Watson writes her own version of Ramona Quimby, one starring a Black girl and her family, in this charming new series.

Recognition: A New York Times Best Children's Book of the Year | A Parents Magazine Best Book of the Year | A School Library Journal Best Book of the Year | A Kirkus Reviews Best Book of the Year | A Publishers Weekly Best Book of the Year | A WORLD Magazine Best Book of the Year | An Amazon Best Book of the Year

Ryan Hart Series Books in Order

 Print series book list

1. Ways to Make Sunshine  (2020)
2. Ways to Grow Love  (2021)
3. Ways to Share Joy  (2022)
4. Ways to Build Dreams  (2023)