The Supernatural Investigations Series

by B.B. Alston (Author)

Book Cover for the Supernatural Investigations Series
Reading level: Ages 8 and up
Books in series: 2
Read in order: Yes
Next book: Sep 2024
Tags: mystery  fantasy  paranormal  magic  action  adventure 

Artemis Fowl meets Men in Black in this exhilarating debut middle grade fantasy, the first in a series filled with #blackgirlmagic. Perfect for fans of Tristan Strong Punches a Hole in the Sky, the Percy Jackson series, and Nevermoor.

Amari Peters has never stopped believing her missing brother, Quinton, is alive. Not even when the police told her otherwise, or when she got in trouble for standing up to bullies who said he was gone for good.

So when she finds a ticking briefcase in his closet, containing a nomination for a summer tryout at the Bureau of Supernatural Affairs, she’s certain the secretive organization holds the key to locating Quinton—if only she can wrap her head around the idea of magicians, fairies, aliens, and other supernatural creatures all being real.

Recognition: Vermont Golden Dome Book Award Nominee (2023), California Young Readers Medal Nominee for Middle School/Junior High (2024), Waterstones Children's Book Prize Nominee for Younger Readers (2022), Goodreads Choice Award Nominee for Middle Grade & Children's (2021), Rebecca Caudill Young Readers' Book Award Nominee (2023), Ignyte Award Nominee for Best Middle Grade Novel (2022), Bronzen Griffel (2022)

Supernatural Investigations Series Books in Order

 Print series book list

1. Amari and the Night Brothers  (2021)
2. Amari and the Great Game  (2022)