The Deltora Quest 1 Series

by Emily Rodda (Author)

Book Cover for the Deltora Quest 1 Series
Reading level: Ages 9 and up
Books in series: 12
Read in order: Yes
Next book: Finished
Tags: adventure  fantasy  magic 

The Deltora Quest is a collective title for three series of children's fantasy books with a continuing, classical quest storyline, comprised of: the Deltora Quest, Deltora Shadowlands, and Dragons of Deltora, also titled Deltora Quest 1, 2, and 3, respectively. Ideally, the three series should be read in order. Like Rodda's earlier, Rowan of Rin series, the Deltora Quest uses riddles, a fast-paced narrative, and an epic setting to engage its readers. In most countries, the series is illustrated by Marc McBride.

The first series follows the adventures of three companions- Lief, Jasmine and Barda - as they journey across the land of Deltora, endeavoring to save it by recovering the magical Belt of Deltora and defeating the allies of the evil Shadow Lord.

Recognition: YABBA - Older Readers Award (2001); WAYRBA - Younger Readers Award (2002); KOALA - Younger Readers Award (2002)

Deltora Quest 1 Series Books in Order

 Print series book list

1. The Forests of Silence  (2000)
2. The Lake of Tears  (2000)
3. City of the Rats  (2000)
4. The Shifting Sands  (2000)
5. Dread Mountain  (2000)
6. The Maze of the Beast  (2000)
7. The Valley of the Lost  (2000)
8. Return to Del  (2000)
+ The Deltora Book Of Monsters  (2001)
+ How to Draw Deltora Monsters  (2004)
+ How to Draw Deltora Dragons  (2004)
+ Tales of Deltora  (2005)