The Hornblower Saga Series

by C.S. Forester (Author)

Book Cover for the Hornblower Saga Series
Reading level: Ages 12 and up
Books in series: 12
Read in order: Yes
Next book: Finished
Tags: seafaring  adventure  historical  classic  war 

As a seventeen-year-old with a touch of seasickness, young Horatio Hornblower hardly cuts a dash in His Majesty's Navy. Yet from the moment he is ordered to board a French merchant ship in the Bay of Biscay and take command of crew and cargo, he proves his seafaring mettle on the waves. In 1793, on the eve of the Napoleon Wars, the young Midshipman receives his first command...

Please Note: The Hornblower Saga is presented here in order of the narrative's chronology rather than the order in which the books were published.

Hornblower Saga Series Books in Order

 Print series book list

1. Mr Midshipman Hornblower  (1950)
2. Lieutenant Hornblower  (1952)
3. Hornblower and the Hotspur  (1962)
4. Hornblower and the Crisis  (1967)
5. Hornblower and the Atropos  (1953)
6. The Happy Return  (1937)
7. A Ship of the Line  (1938)
8. Flying Colours  (1938)
9. Commodore Hornblower  (1945)
10. Lord Hornblower  (1946)
11. Hornblower in the West Indies  (1957)
+ Hornblower Companion  (1964)