The Holes Series

by Louis Sachar (Author)

Book Cover for the Holes Series
Reading level: Ages 10 and up
Books in series: 3
Read in order: Yes
Next book: Finished
Tags: mystery  adventure  comedy & humour 

Stanley Yelnats is a kid who is under a curse. A curse that began with his no-good-dirty-rotten-pig-stealing-great-great-grandfather and has since followed generations of Yelnats. Now Stanley has been unjustly sent to a boys' detention center, Camp Green Lake, where the warden makes the boys "build character" by spending all day, every day, digging holes five feet wide and five feet deep.

It doesn't take long for Stanley to realise there's more than character improvement going on at Camp Green Lake: the warden is looking for something. Stanley tries to dig up the truth in this inventive and darkly humorous series of crime and punishment—and redemption.

Holes Series Books in Order

 Print series book list

1. Holes  (1998)
2. Small Steps  (2006)
+ Stanley Yelnats' Survival Guide to Camp Greenlake  (2003)