The Chronoptika (Obsidian Mirror) Series

by Catherine Fisher (Author)

Book Cover for the Chronoptika (Obsidian Mirror) Series
Reading level: Ages 11 and up
Books in series: 4
Read in order: Yes
Next book: Finished
Tags: fantasy  time travel  mystery  fairies  adventure 

Time travel and the faery world collide in this intriguing fantasy series.

The mysterious and powerful obsidian mirror is a black mirror which forms a portal to both the past and the future. Strangers from the past and the future - a product of the mirror's power to twist time - begin collecting at Wintercombe Abbey estate. And all the while, a tribe of elemental beings surround the isolated estate; fey, cold, untrustworthy, and filled with hate for humans.

Time-travel provides the opportunity for adventure and the lure of the past and future, with all the irresistible paradoxes and problems such a story creates. Throw in elemental creatures such as faeries, and you have an edgy and fast-paced series that will keep the reader guessing.

Each book in the series explores themes of fate and time and whether we should change the past if we could—and what that might cost us.

And the Mirror? Well the Mirror is Time itself. The answer to every problem…and the real enemy.

Chronoptika (Obsidian Mirror) Series Books in Order

 Print series book list

1. The Obsidian Mirror  (2012)
2. The Box of Red Brocade (The Slanted Worlds)  (2013)
3. The Door in the Moon  (2015)
4. The Speed of Darkness  (2016)