The Bartimaeus Sequence Series

by Jonathan Stroud (Author)

Book Cover for the Bartimaeus Sequence Series
Reading level: Ages 10 and up
Books in series: 4
Read in order: Yes
Next book: Finished
Tags: fantasy  magic  myth & legend  historical  comedy & humour  adventure 

When the 5,000-year-old djinni Bartimaeus is summoned by Nathaniel, a young magician's apprentice, he expects to have to do nothing more taxing than a little levitation or a few simple illusions. But Nathaniel is a precocious talent and has something rather more dangerous in mind: revenge.

Against his will, Bartimaeus is packed off to steal the powerful Amulet of Samarkand from Simon Lovelace, a master magician of unrivalled ruthlessness and ambition. Before long, both djinni and apprentice are caught up in a terrifying flood of magical intrigue, murder and rebellion. Set in a modern-day London controlled by magicians, this hilarious, electrifying and thrilling series will enthral readers of all ages.

Bartimaeus Sequence Series Books in Order

 Print series book list

1. The Amulet of Samarkand  (2003)
2. The Golem's Eye  (2004)
3. Ptolemy's Gate  (2005)
+ The Ring of Solomon  (2010)