The Misty Series

by Marguerite Henry (Author) Wesley Dennis (Illustrator) Karen Haus Grandpre (Illustrator)

Book Cover for the Misty Series
Reading level: Ages 8 and up
Books in series: 4
Read in order: Yes
Next book: Finished
Tags: horses & ponies  animal  classic  illustrated  adventure 

The Misty series is based on the true story of a wild pony from the island of Chincoteague. On Pony Penning Day each year, the wild ponies swim from Assateague Island to Chincoteague Island (an island closer to the mainland). These wild and spirited ponies have long captured the imagination of islanders and visitors alike.

Brother and sister, Paul and Maureen Beebe, have their hearts set on owning a wild island mare called, Phantom. They want to buy and tame her and are working hard to earn enough money to do so, however, no one has yet been able to capture her... But Pony Penning Day this year holds an unexpected turn of events.

Misty Series Books in Order

 Print series book list

1. Misty of Chincoteague  (1947)
2. Sea Star: Orphan of Chincoteague  (1920)
3. Stormy, Misty's Foal  (1963)
4. Misty's Twilight   (1992)