The Warriors Series

by Erin Hunter (Author)

Book Cover for the Warriors Series
Reading level: Ages 8 and up
Books in series: 6
Read in order: Yes
Next book: Finished
Tags: animal  fantasy  action  myth & legend 

Warriors is a fast-paced and suspenseful animal fantasy series about wild cats. It follows the adventures of four Clans of wild cats in their forest homes: ThunderClan, WindClan, ShadowClan and RiverClan, and later in the series, the long-forgotten fifth Clan of the forest, SkyClan.

The cats in this fantasy series have both everyday human-quality experiences, as well as the drama and conflict associated with clan loyalties, survival, and battles over territory in the animal wilds. This first series follows a pet cat named Rusty, who has dreams about the forest that lies beyond the neighborhood he lives in.

There are currently four main sub-series, each containing six books: Warriors, Warriors: The New Prophecy, Warriors: Power of Three, and Warriors: Omen of the Stars. The start of a fifth series, Warriors: Dawn of the Clans or A New Reign, is proposed for 2013. There are also a number of manga series for readers of graphic novels, as well as field guides.

Warriors Series Books in Order

 Print series book list

1. Into the Wild  (2003)
2. Fire and Ice  (2003)
3. Forest of Secrets  (2003)
4. Rising Storm  (2004)
5. A Dangerous Path  (2004)
6. The Darkest Hour  (2004)