The Recipe for Adventure Series

by Giada De Laurentiis (Author) Francesca Gambatesa (Illustrator)

Book Cover for the Recipe for Adventure Series
Reading level: Ages 8 and up
Books in series: 8
Read in order: No
Tags: cooking & baking  culture  illustrated  first chapter books  family  adventure 

A deliciously fun chapter-book series from Emmy Award-winning celebrity chef, Giada De Laurentiis. The books follow the Bertolizzi siblings, Alfie and Emilia, as they discover the sights, sounds, and tastes of some of the world's greatest culinary destinations.

When Zia Donatella comes to live with the Bertolizzi family, little do Alfie and his older sister Emilia know what's in store for them. Zia Dontella is determined to show the kids how a home-cooked meal is better than even the best take-out pizza or burrito. And when Zia's plan actually transports Alfie and Emilia to famous food cities around the world, they learn first-hand how food can not only take you places but can also bring you back home.

In each story, Alfie and Emilia make new friends, discover new foods, and have new adventures. Each book also contains two original recipes that reflect the regional food of the city they are visiting.

Recipe for Adventure Series Books in Order

 Print series book list

1. Naples!  (2013)
2. Paris!  (2013)
3. Hong Kong!  (2014)
4. New Orleans!  (2014)
5. Rio de Janeiro!  (2015)
6. Hawaii!  (2015)
7. Miami!  (2015)
8. Philadelphia!  (2016)