The Deltora Quest 1 Series

by Emily Rodda (Author)

Book Cover for the Deltora Quest 1 Series
The Deltora Quest is a collective title for three series of children's fantasy books with a continuing, classical quest storyline, comprised of: the Deltora Quest, Deltora Shadowlands, and Dragons of Deltora, also titled Deltora Quest 1, 2, and 3, respectively. Ideally, the three series should be read in order. Like Rodda's earlier, Rowan of Rin series, the Deltora Quest uses riddles, a fast-paced narrative, and an epic setting to engage its readers. In most countries, the series is illustrated by Marc McBride.

The first series follows the adventures of three companions- Lief, Jasmine and Barda - as they journey across the land of Deltora, endeavoring to save it by recovering the magical Belt of Deltora and defeating the allies of the evil Shadow Lord.

Recognition: YABBA - Older Readers Award (2001); WAYRBA - Younger Readers Award (2002); KOALA - Younger Readers Award (2002)

Summary and books in the Deltora Quest 1 series

Tags: adventure, fantasy, magic,
Series reading level: 9+
Books in series: 12
Should read in order? Yes
Next release: Finished

 Print series book list

Books in series order
1The Forests of Silence  (2000)
2The Lake of Tears  (2000)
3City of the Rats  (2000)
4The Shifting Sands  (2000)
5Dread Mountain  (2000)
6The Maze of the Beast  (2000)
7The Valley of the Lost  (2000)
8Return to Del  (2000)
+ The Deltora Book Of Monsters  (2001)
+ How to Draw Deltora Monsters  (2004)
+ How to Draw Deltora Dragons  (2004)
+ Tales of Deltora  (2005)