The Obernewtyn Chronicles Series

by Isobelle Carmody (Author)

Book Cover for the Obernewtyn Chronicles Series
The Obernewtyn Chronicles is a science fiction and fantasy series set in a post apocalyptic world, long after a global nuclear holocaust, called the 'Great White', has scourged the land. There are no machines, cars, computers, or planes, and in their place are horses and carts. Modern technology and information have been lost. The 'Great White' didn't only bring a reign of primitive technology: it brought mutants, those with extrasensory powers. A new government - the Council - orders these mutants, called Misfits, to be burned, and has appointed a religious authority, the Herder Faction, to hunt them down. This is the world that orphaned mutant teen Elspeth Gordie lives in. The novels deal with themes of responsibility, duty, prejudice, discrimination, tolerance, and human and animal rights.

Summary and books in the Obernewtyn Chronicles series

Tags: fantasy, adventure, science fiction, paranormal, epic fantasy, post-apocalyptic,
Series reading level: 13+
Books in series: 7
Should read in order? Yes
Next release: Finished

 Print series book list

Books in series order
1Obernewtyn  (1987)
2The Farseekers  (1990)
3Ashling  (1995)
4The Keeping Place  (1999)
5The Stone Key  (2008)
6The Sending  (2011)
7The Red Queen  (2015)