The Borrowers Series

by Mary Norton (Author)

Book Cover for the Borrowers Series
Reading level: Ages 7 and up
Books in series: 5
Read in order: Yes
Next book: Finished
Tags: classic  fantasy  family  friendship  adventure 

Beneath the kitchen floor is the world of the Borrowers – Pod and Homily Clock and their daughter, Arrietty. In their tiny home, matchboxes double as roomy dressers and postage stamps hang on the walls like paintings. Whatever the Clocks need they simply "borrow" from the "human beans" who live above them. It's a comfortable life, but boring if you're a kid. Only Pod is allowed to venture into the house above, because the danger of being seen by a human is too great. Borrowers who are seen by humans are never seen again. Yet Arrietty won't listen. There is a human boy up there, and Arrietty is desperate for a friend.

Borrowers Series Books in Order

 Print series book list

1. The Borrowers  (1952)
2. The Borrowers Afield  (1954)
3. The Borrowers Afloat  (1959)
4. The Borrowers Aloft  (1961)
5. The Borrowers Avenged  (1982)