The Famous Five Series

by Enid Blyton (Author)

Book Cover for the Famous Five Series
The Famous Five are a group of children who have the sort of adventures most kids dream about, in a world where ginger beer flows and ham rolls are a staple diet. Julian, Dick and Anne get together with their cousin, George in the first adventure, 'Five On A Treasure Island'. George is actually a girl who wants so desperately to be a boy she crops her hair and struts about doing boy things. She hates it when people call her by her correct name, Georgina. She has a dog called Timmy - oh yes, and an island. Most kids just have a dog, but George's parents own Kirrin Island and let her run around on it as if it were her play-thing. Her parents are known to Julian, Dick and Anne as Uncle Quentin and Aunt Fanny.

Summary and books in the Famous Five series

Tags: mystery, adventure, family, animals, classics,
Series reading level: 7+
Books in series: 21
Should read in order? No
Next release: Finished

 Print series book list

Books in series order
1Five on a Treasure Island  (1942)
2Five Go Adventuring Again  (1943)
3Five Run Away Together  (1944)
4Five Go to Smuggler's Top  (1945)
5Five Go Off in a Caravan  (1946)
6Five On Kirrin Island Again  (1947)
7Five Go Off to Camp  (1948)
8Five Get Into Trouble  (1949)
9Five Fall Into Adventure  (1950)
10Five On a Hike Together  (1951)
11Five Have a Wonderful Time  (1952)
12Five Go Down to the Sea  (1953)
13Five Go to Mystery Moor  (1954)
14Five Have Plenty of Fun  (1955)
15Five On a Secret Trail  (1956)
16Five Go to Billycock Hill  (1957)
17Five Get into a Fix  (1958)
18Five on Finniston Farm  (1959)
19Five Go to Demon's Rocks  (1960)
20Five Have a Mystery to Solve  (1962)
21Five Are Together Again  (1962)