The Letter for the King Series

by Tonke Dragt (Author)

Book Cover for the Letter for the King Series
Reading level: Ages 11 and up
Books in series: 2
Read in order: Yes
Next book: Finished
Tags: fantasy  adventure  magic  medieval  classic  royalty 

Sixteen-year-old Tiuri must spend hours locked in a chapel in silent contemplation if he is to be knighted the next day. But as he waits by the light of a flickering candle, he hears a knock at the door and a voice desperately asking for help.

A secret letter must be delivered to King Unauwen across the Great Mountains—a letter upon which the fate of the entire kingdom depends. Tiuri has a vital role to play, one that might cost him his knighthood.

Tiuri’s journey will take him through dark, menacing forests, across treacherous rivers, to sinister castles and strange cities. He will encounter evil enemies who would kill to get the letter, but also the best of friends in the most unexpected places.

He must trust no one.

He must keep his true identity secret.

Above all, he must never reveal what is in the letter…

The Letter for the King and – translated into English for the first time in 2015 – its sequel, The Secrets of the Wild Wood, tell the thrilling story of one boy’s battle against evil, set in an enchanted world of chivalry, courage, and true friendship.

Letter for the King Series Books in Order

 Print series book list

1. The Letter for the King  (1962)
2. The Secrets of the Wild Wood  (1963)