The Lone City Series

by Amy Ewing (Author)

Book Cover for the Lone City Series
Reading level: Ages 14 and up
Books in series: 5
Read in order: Yes
Next book: Finished
Tags: dystopian  romance  fantasy  suspense 

The Selection meets The Handmaid’s Tale in this darkly riveting debut filled with twists and turns, where all that glitters may not be gold.

The Jewel means wealth, the Jewel means beauty – but for Violet, the Jewel means servitude. Born and raised in the Marsh, Violet finds herself living in the Jewel as a servant at the estate of the Duchess of the Lake. Addressed only by her number – #197 – Violet is quickly thrown into the royal way of life. But behind its opulent and glittering facade, the Jewel hides its cruel and brutal truth, filled with violence, manipulation, and death.

Violet must accept the ugly realities of her life... all while trying to stay alive. But before she can accept her fate, Violet meets a handsome boy who is also under the Duchess's control, and a forbidden love erupts. Their illicit affair has consequences, which will cost them both more than they could have imagined. Toeing the line between being calculating and rebellious, Violet must decide what, and who, she is willing to risk for her own freedom.

Lone City Series Books in Order

 Print series book list

1. The Jewel  (2014)
2. The White Rose  (2015)
3. The Black Key  (2016)
+ The House of the Stone  (2015)
+ A Lone City Novella: Garnet's Story  (2016)