The Renee and Flo Series

by Dawn O'Porter (Author)

Book Cover for the Renee and Flo Series
Reading level: Ages 13 and up
Books in series: 2
Read in order: Yes
Next book: Finished
Tags: realistic fiction  girls  friendship  school  culture  romance 

It's the mid-1990s, and fifteen year-old Guernsey schoolgirls, Renée and Flo, are not really meant to be friends. Thoughtful, introspective and studious Flo couldn't be more different to ambitious, extroverted and sexually curious Renée. But Renée and Flo are united by loneliness and their dysfunctional families, and an intense bond is formed. Although there are obstacles to their friendship (namely Flo's jealous ex-best friend and Renée's growing infatuation with Flo's brother), fifteen is an age where anything can happen, where life stretches out before you, and when every betrayal feels like the end of the world. For Renée and Flo it is the time of their lives.

With graphic content and some scenes of a sexual nature, Paper Aeroplanes and its sequel, Goose, are gritty, poignant, often laugh-out-loud funny and emotionally powerful novels. They offer an unforgettable snapshot of small-town adolescence and the heart-stopping power of youthful female friendship.

Renee and Flo Series Books in Order

 Print series book list

1. Paper Aeroplanes  (2013)
2. Goose  (2014)