The Bone Series

by Jeff Smith (Author/Cartoonist)

Book Cover for the Bone Series
Reading level: Ages 8 and up
Books in series: 14
Read in order: Yes
Next book: Finished
Tags: graphic novel  epic fantasy  adventure  comedy & humour  mystery 

The Bone adventures tell the story of a young bone boy, Fone Bone, and his two cousins, Phoney Bone and Smiley Bone, who are exiled from their homeland of Boneville. When the cousins find themselves mysteriously trapped in a wonderful but often terrifying land filled with secrets and danger and special new friendships, they're soon caught up in adventures beyond their wildest dreams.

This epic adventure series in the tradition of Tolkien's Lord of the Rings is credited with breathing new life into the graphic novel format and introducing successive generations of readers to the wonder of narrative comic books.

Recognition: Eisner Award for Best Humor Publication (1993 - 1995); Eisner Award for Best Continuing Series (1994 - 1995); Eisner Award for Best Writer/Artist: Jeff Smith (1994 - 1995); Harvey Award for Best Cartoonist (Writer/Artist): Jeff Smith (1994 - 1997, 1999 - 2000, 2003, 2005); Harvey Award Special Award for Humor: Jeff Smith (1994); Harvey Award for Best Graphic Album of Previously Published Work: The Complete Bone Adventures (1994, 2005)

Bone Series Books in Order

 Print series book list

+ Rose  (2002)
1. Out from Boneville  (1993)
2. The Great Cow Race  (1994)
3. Eyes of the Storm  (1995)
4. The Dragonslayer  (1997)
5. Rock Jaw, Master of the Eastern Border  (1998)
6. Old Man's Cave  (1999)
7. Ghost Circles  (2001)
8. Treasure Hunters  (2002)
9. Crown of Horns  (2004)
+ Bone Handbook  (2010)
+ Bone: Coda  (2016)
+ Bone: Tall Tales  (2010)
+ Bone: More Tall Tales  (2023)