The Brian's Saga Series

by Gary Paulsen (Author)

Book Cover for the Brian's Saga Series
Reading level: Ages 11 and up
Books in series: 6
Read in order: Yes
Next book: Finished
Tags: adventure  nature  realistic fiction  boys  action 

Brian Robeson, sole passenger on a Cessna 406, is on his way to visit his father when the tiny bush plane crashes in the Canadian wilderness. With nothing but his clothing, a tattered windbreaker, and the hatchet his mother had given him as a present, Brian finds himself completely alone.

Challenged by his fear and despair – and plagued with the weight of a dreadful secret he's been keeping since his parent's divorce – Brian must tame his inner demons in order to survive. It will take all his know-how and determination, and more courage than he knew he possessed.

Brian's Saga Series Books in Order

 Print series book list

1. Hatchet  (1987)
2. The River  (1991)
3. Brian's Winter  (1996)
4. Brian's Return  (1999)
5. Brian's Hunt  (2003)
+ Guts: The True Stories behind Hatchet and the Brian Books  (2001)