The Snow White Trilogy Series

by Salla Simukka (Author) Owen Witesman (Translator)

Book Cover for the Snow White Trilogy Series
Reading level: Ages 13 and up
Books in series: 3
Read in order: Yes
Next book: Finished
Tags: crime  mystery  suspense  horror  culture  fairy tales 

17-year-old Lumikki Andersson goes to a high school of performing arts. She has made it a rule to stay out of things that do not involve her. However, the rule is put to the test on leap day when she finds washed five hundred euro notes hung to dry in her school’s darkroom. It turns out that three students from Lumikki’s high school have in their possession plastic bags containing bloody notes, and soon Lumikki finds herself caught in a tangled web of international drug trade. Elisa, one of the three students and daughter of a wealthy family, begins to suspect that her father, a police officer in the narcotics division, is somehow involved.

Lumikki is swept into a whirlpool of events and faces life-threatening situations on the run from Russian and Estonian criminals. Finally, after four hectic days, Lumikki finds herself in a huge mansion where the mysterious Polar Bear is having a legendary secret party. In the mansion, all secrets are revealed. It’s the coldest winter in decades; the streets of Tampere are frozen and white with snow. And nothing is as red against white snow as blood.

Translated from Finnish by Owen Witesman, this dark and thrilling series has been likened to The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo for a young adult audience.

Snow White Trilogy Series Books in Order

 Print series book list

1. As Red as Blood  (2014)
2. As White As Snow  (2015)
3. As Black As Ebony  (2015)