The Memory Chronicles Series

by Lenore Appelhans (Author)

Book Cover for the Memory Chronicles Series
Reading level: Ages 12 and up
Books in series: 3
Read in order: Yes
Next book: Finished
Tags: fantasy  paranormal  religion  romance  mystery  illness & grief 

Since her untimely death the day before her eighteenth birthday, Felicia Ward has been trapped in Level 2, a stark white afterlife located between our world and the next. Along with her fellow drones, Felicia passes the endless hours reliving memories of her time on Earth and mourning what she’s lost-family, friends, and Neil, the boy she loved.

But when Julian – a dangerously charming guy Felicia knew in life – comes to offer Felicia a way out, Felicia learns the truth: If she joins the rebellion to overthrow the Morati, the angel guardians of Level 2, she can be with Neil again . . .

Lenore Appelhans combines the best of much contemporary young adult fantasy in this inventive series: the dystopian drama of Veronica Roth's Divergent trilogy; the religious mythology of the Fallen books by Lauren Kate; and the revolutionary spirit of Teri Terry's characters in Slated. Ultimately, though, The Memory Chronicles is a unique glimpse of a young life caught between two worlds and the ever-raging war between good and evil which surrounds her.

Memory Chronicles Series Books in Order

 Print series book list

1. The Memory of After (or Level 2)  (2012)
2. Chasing Before  (2014)
+ The Best Things in Death  (2014)