The Folktales Series

by Robin McKinley (Author)

Book Cover for the Folktales Series
When the family business collapses, Beauty and her two sisters are forced to leave the city and begin a new life in the countryside. However, when their father accepts hospitality from the elusive and magical Beast, he is forced to make a terrible promise - to send one daughter to the Beast's castle, with no guarantee that she will be seen again. Beauty accepts the challenge, and there begins an extraordinary story of magic and love that overcomes all boundaries.

In another far-off land, a beloved baby is born to a King and Queen and their kingdom rejoices. But the festivities attract the attention of an unwelcome guest – a wicked fairy named Pernicia – who curses the child on her naming day. Young Briar-Rose's family and friends must sacrifice everything in order to protect the child they adore . . .

This series of spellbinding retellings of classical fairy tales is embroidered with beauty, elegance and grace. Stories featured include The Princess and the Frog, Sleeping Beauty, 12 Dancing Princesses and two unique reimaginings of Beauty and the Beast.

Summary and books in the Folktales series

Tags: fairy tales, romance, princess, fantasy, magic, nature,
Series reading level: 11+
Books in series: 4
Should read in order? No
Next release: Finished

 Print series book list

Books in series order
1Beauty  (1978)
2Rose Daughter  (1997)
3Spindle's End  (2000)
+ The Door in the Hedge  (1981)