The Young Pilots Series

by Elizabeth Wein (Author)

Book Cover for the Young Pilots Series
Reading level: 14+
Books in series: 2
Read in order: Yes
Next book: Finished
Tags: historical  war  action  spy  thriller  friendship 

When "Verity" is arrested by the Gestapo, she's sure she doesn't stand a chance. As a secret agent captured in enemy territory, she's living a spy's worst nightmare. Her Nazi interrogators give her a simple choice: reveal her mission or face a grisly execution. They'll get the truth out of her. But it won't be what they expect.

As she intricately weaves her confession, Verity uncovers her past, how she became friends with the pilot Maddie, and why she left Maddie in the wrecked fuselage of their plane. On each new scrap of paper, Verity battles for her life, confronting her views on courage, failure and her desperate hope to make it home. But will trading her secrets be enough to save her from a merciless and ruthless enemy?

Harrowing and beautifully written, Code Name Verity  and its companion novel, Rose Under Fire, are filled with danger, resolve, and survival, revealing just how far true friends will go to save each other. The bondage of war will never be as strong as the bonds forged by the unforgettable friendship in these extraordinary tales of fortitude in the face of the ultimate evil.

Young Pilots Series Books in Order

 Print series book list

1. Code Name Verity  (2012)
2. Rose Under Fire  (2013)