The Earthsea Series

by Ursula K. Le Guin (Author)

Book Cover for the Earthsea Series
A mystical fantasy saga in the tradition of JRR Tolkien's The Lord of the Rings and The Chronicles of Narnia by CS Lewis, the Earthsea novels follow the fortunes of the wizard Ged from his childhood to an age where magic is giving way to evil.

As a child, Ged is but a goatherd on the island of Gont when he comes by his strange powers over nature. Sent to the School of Wizards on Roke, he learns the true way of magic and proves himself a powerful magician. And it is as the Archmage Sparrowhawk that he helps the High Priestess Tenar escape the labyrinth of darkness. But over the years, Ged witnesses true magic and the ancient ways submit to the forces of evil and death. Will he too succumb, or can he hold them back?

Fans of JK Rowling's Harry Potter series will find much to admire in this complex and captivating predecessor.

Summary and books in the Earthsea series

Tags: fantasy, magic, myth & legend, dragon, adventure,
Series reading level: 10+
Books in series: 6
Should read in order? Yes
Next release: Finished

 Print series book list

Books in series order
1A Wizard of Earthsea  (1968)
2The Tombs of Atuan  (1970)
3The Farthest Shore  (1972)
4Tehanu  (1990)
5The Other Wind  (2001)
+ Tales from Earthsea  (2001)