The Adrian Mole Series

by Sue Townsend (Author)

Book Cover for the Adrian Mole Series
Reading level: Ages 12 and up
Books in series: 8
Read in order: Yes
Next book: Finished
Tags: comedy & humour  family  friendship  school  realistic fiction 

Meet Adrian Mole, a hapless teenager providing an unabashed, pimples-and-all glimpse into adolescent life. Adrian has many desires and ambitions in life—to marry his teenage sweetheart, publish his poetry and novels, obtain financial security—but struggles in his ability to achieve them.

With painful, humorous, and compelling honesty, Adrian’s diary is filled with candid musings about his parents' marital troubles, the dog, and his life as a tortured poet and 'misunderstood intellectual'. His self-delusions and misguided assumptions ultimately reveal something meaningful, a combination which has made this highly regarded series a modern classic.