The Little House Series

by Laura Ingalls Wilder (Author)

Book Cover for the Little House Series
Laura Ingalls and her family live deep in the Big Woods of Wisconsin. Their log cabin is surrounded by miles of trees, and their closest neighbors are bears, wolves, and panthers. Daily chores keep Laura and her sister Mary busy, but they still find time to go exploring with their dog, Jack.

Pioneer life is sometimes hard for the family, since they must grow or catch all their own food as they get ready for the cold winter. But it is also exciting as Laura and her family celebrate Christmas with homemade toys and treats, do the spring planting, bring in the harvest, and make their first trip into town. And every night they are safe and warm in their little house, with the happy sound of Pa's fiddle sending Laura and her sisters off to sleep.

And so begins Laura Ingalls Wilder's beloved story of a pioneer girl and her family. The Little House books have been cherished by generations of readers as both a unique glimpse into America's frontier history and as heartwarming, unforgettable stories. This series will appeal especially to fans of the Anne of Green Gables or Little Women series.

Summary and books in the Little House series

Tags: classics, historical, culture, family, adventure, nature,
Series reading level: 8+
Books in series: 9
Should read in order? Yes
Next release: Finished

 Print series book list

Books in series order
1Little House in the Big Woods  (1932)
2Little House on the Prairie  (1935)
3On the Banks of Plum Creek  (1937)
4By the Shores of Silver Lake  (1939)
5The Long Winter  (1940)
6Little Town on the Prairie  (1941)
7These Happy Golden Years  (1943)
8The First Four Years  (1953)
+ Farmer Boy  (1933)