The City of Orphans (Bogle) Series

by Catherine Jinks (Author)

Book Cover for the City of Orphans (Bogle) Series
Reading level: Ages 11 and up
Books in series: 3
Read in order: Yes
Next book: Finished
Tags: mystery  fantasy  magic  horror  adventure 

Monsters have been infesting London’s dark places for centuries, eating every child who gets too close. That’s why ten-year-old Birdie McAdam works for Alfred Bunce, the bogler. With her beautiful voice and dainty looks, Birdie is the bait that draws bogles from their lairs so that Alfred can kill them.

One life-changing day, Alfred and Birdie are approached by two very different women. Sarah Pickles runs a local gang of pickpockets, three of whom have disappeared. Edith Eames is an educated lady who’s studying the mythical beasts of English folklore. Both of them threaten the only life Birdie’s ever known. But Birdie soon realises she needs Miss Eames’s help to save her master, defeat Sarah Pickles and vanquish an altogether nastier villain.

Please Note: The City of Orphans series is published in some countries, including the United States, as the Bogle series.

City of Orphans (Bogle) Series Books in Order

 Print series book list

1. A Very Unusual Pursuit  (2013)
2. A Very Peculiar Plague  (2013)
3. A Very Singular Guild  (2014)