The Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place Series

by Maryrose Wood (Author) Jon Klassen (Illustrator)

Book Cover for the Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place Series
Reading level: Ages 8 and up
Books in series: 6
Read in order: Yes
Next book: Finished
Tags: mystery  fantasy  comedy & humour  adventure  illustrated  family 

Of especially naughty children, it is sometimes said: They must have been raised by wolves. The Incorrigible Children actually were. Discovered in the forest of Ashton Place, the Incorrigibles are no ordinary children. Luckily, Miss Penelope Lumley is no ordinary governess. A recent graduate of the Swanburne Academy for Poor Bright Females, Penelope embraces the challenge of her new position. Though she is eager to instruct the children in Latin verbs and the proper use of globes, first she must eliminate their canine tendencies.

But mysteries abound at Ashton Place: Who are these three wild creatures? Why does Old Timothy, the coachman, lurk around every corner? Will Penelope be able to civilize the Incorrigibles in time for Lady Constance's holiday ball? And what on earth is a schottische?

Penelope is no stranger to mystery, as her own origins are also cloaked in secrecy. But as Agatha Swanburne herself once said, things may happen for a reason, but that doesn't mean we know what the reason is – at least, not yet.

Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place Series Books in Order

 Print series book list

1. The Mysterious Howling  (2010)
2. The Hidden Gallery  (2011)
3. The Unseen Guest  (2012)
4. The Interrupted Tale  (2013)
5. The Unmapped Sea  (2015)
6. The Long-Lost Home  (2017)