The Alphabet Series

by Ursula Dubosarsky (Author) Annie White (Illustrator)

Book Cover for the Alphabet Series
Reading level: Ages 5 and up
Books in series: 4
Read in order: No
Next book: Finished
Tags: first chapter books  illustrated  family  friendship 

Ava likes to play shopping! Ethan can’t abide eating peas! Rory is trying really hard to learn to ride a bike! And Violet just wants to see a magic show, but not a boring one with card tricks . . . an interesting one with rabbits!

This exciting new series, written by Ursula Dubosarsky and illustrated by Annie White, offers children their first experience of reading real novels. The stories are approximately 650 words, comparable with many picture books, but the books are structured like novels. Each has four chapters, and each chapter ends on a major development or twist with resolution by the end of the book. Above all, the stories are about real experiences in settings familiar to 5- to 7-year-olds. This series will appeal to parents, teachers and children alike and is suitable for both boys and girls.

These stories are cleverly crafted to both entertain and to make the reading experience pleasurable. They are the perfect bridge between picture books and junior fiction.

Alphabet Series Books in Order

 Print series book list

1. Ava Adds  (2013)
2. Ethan Eats  (2013)
3. Rory Rides  (2013)
4. Violet Vanishes  (2013)