The Ayesha Series

by Henry Rider Haggard (Author)

Book Cover for the Ayesha Series
Reading level: Ages 12 and up
Books in series: 4
Read in order: Yes
Next book: Finished
Tags: action  adventure  classics  myth & legend  romance  fantasy  culture 

Drawing on his knowledge of Africa and of ancient legends, literary adventure writer Henry Rider Haggard weaves this disturbing tale of Ayesha, the mysterious and immortal white queen of a Central African tribe. She, or "She-who-must-be-obeyed," is the embodiment of the mythological female figure who is monstrous, desirable, and deadly. These thrilling Victorian novels feature all the best elements of the "Lost World" genre: a lost African kingdom and their mysterious, implacable queen; menacing cannibals; ferocious wildlife and yawning abysses; and an eerie love story that spans two thousand years.

The Ayesha series is a pioneering work of its genre and will appeal to fans of action, adventure & mythology. See also the Allan Quatermain series by H. Rider Haggard.

Ayesha Series Books in Order

 Print series book list

1. She  (1887)
2. Ayesha: The Return of She  (1905)
3. She and Allan  (1920)
4. Wisdom's Daughter  (1923)