The Kingdom of Silk Series

by Glenda Millard (Author) Stephen Michael King (Author) Patrice Barton (Illustrator) Caroline Magerl (Illustrator)

Book Cover for the Kingdom of Silk Series
Griffin has a secret in his heart that nobody else knows—until he meets Layla. Griffin Silk is an uncommon sort of boy, from an uncommon sort of family, and when he meets Layla, a princess with a daisy-chain crown, he knows he's found a friend. So Griffin shares his inner thoughts with Layla and together they find a way to deal with his secret.

Just like the mythical beast whose name he bears, Griffin has uncommon courage and the heart of a lion. But it will take a friend like Layla to help him find the answers to his biggest questions. This unique and tender series will touch the heart of every reader.

Recognition: CBCA Book of the Year Award shortlist (2004); NSW Premier's Literary Awards nominee (2004); Queensland Premier's Literary Awards for Children's Book Award - Mary Ryan's Award (2007); New South Wales Premier's Literary Awards Nominee for Patricia Wrightson Prize (2009)

Summary and books in the Kingdom of Silk series

Tags: friendship, family, school, illustrated,
Series reading level: 7+
Books in series: 7
Should read in order? Yes
Next release: Finished

 Print series book list

Books in series order
1The Naming of Tishkin Silk  (2003)
2Layla, Queen of Hearts  (2006)
3Perry Angel's Suitcase  (2008)
4All the Colours of Paradise  (2009)
5Plum Puddings and Paper Moons  (2010)
6The Tender Moments of Saffron Silk  (2012)
7Nell's Festival of Crisp Winter Glories   (2013)