The Word Spy Series


by Ursula Dubosarsky (Author) Tohby Riddle (Illustrator)

Book Cover for the Word Spy Series
Reading level: Ages 9 and up
Books in series: 3
Read in order: Yes
Next book: Finished
Website: www.wordsnoop.blogspot.com.au
Tags: non fiction  historical  culture  illustrated  humour  word puzzle 

Meet the Word Spy. She's dashing and daring and witty as can be – and no one knows more about the evolution of the English language than she does! Luckily, she's spilling her secrets in this gem of a book series. From the first alphabet in 4000 BC, to anagrams, palindromes, and modern-day text messages, readers will learn all about the fascinating twists and turns the English language has taken to become what it is today.

With playful black-and-white illustrations, riddles to solve, and codes to break, The Word Spy is definitive proof that words can spark the imagination and are anything but dull. This is a series for every aspiring writer and every true reader to savour. Readers who enjoy Nick Earls & Terry Whidborne's The Word Hunters trilogy will relish the linguistic adventures that the Word Spy has to offer.

Please Note: This series was published in the United States of America under the title The Word Snoop.

Word Spy Series Books in Order

 Print series book list

1. The Word Spy  (2007)
2. Return of the Word Spy  (2010)
+ The Word Spy Activity Book  (2012)