The Agency (Mary Quinn Mysteries) Series

by Y.S. Lee (Author)

Book Cover for the Agency (Mary Quinn Mysteries) Series
Reading level: Ages 12 and up
Books in series: 4
Read in order: Yes
Next book: Finished
Tags: historical  culture  mystery  spy  action  adventure 

Steeped in Victorian atmosphere and intrigue, this enthralling mystery series trails a feisty heroine as she takes on a precarious secret assignment.

Rescued from the gallows in 1850s London, young orphan (and thief) Mary Quinn is surprised to be offered a singular education, instruction in fine manners—and an unusual vocation. Miss Scrimshaw’s Academy for Girls is a cover for an all-female investigative unit called The Agency, and at seventeen, Mary is about to put her training to the test. Assuming the guise of a lady’s companion, she must infiltrate a rich merchant’s home in hopes of tracing his missing cargo ships. But the household is full of dangerous deceptions, and there is no one to trust—or is there?

Packed with action and suspense, banter and romance, and evoking the gritty backstreets of Victorian London, this breezy mystery debuts a daring young detective who lives by her wits while uncovering secrets, including those of her own past.

Readers who crave cleverly crafted historical thrillers such as Phillip Pullman's Sally Lockhart series or The Keepers Trilogy by Lian Tanner will find themselves engrossed in The Agency.

Agency (Mary Quinn Mysteries) Series Books in Order

 Print series book list

1. A Spy in the House  (2009)
2. The Body at the Tower  (2010)
3. The Traitor and the Tunnel  (2012)
4. Rivals in the City  (2014)