The Oz Series

by L. Frank Baum (Author)

Book Cover for the Oz Series
The Oz books by L. Frank Baum form a series of classic children's fantasy novels that begins with the most famous of Baum's creations, The Wonderful Wizard of Oz (1900) and relate the fictional history of the Land of Oz and its colourful cast of inhabitants.

Oz was created by author L. Frank Baum, who went on to write fourteen full-length Oz books. Even as he lived, Baum was styled as "the Royal Historian of Oz" to emphasise the concept that Oz is an actual place. The illusion created was that characters such as Dorothy and Princess Ozma related their adventures in Oz to Baum themselves, by means of wireless telegraph.

Aside from the fourteen books that Baum wrote, many other authors over the past century have contributed to the canon of Oz. These include nineteen novels by Ruth Plumly Thompson, three by John R. Neill, two by Jack Snow and two by Rachel R. Cosgrove. In 2005, the Baum Trust authorised Sherwood Smith to create four more official Oz sequels, two of which have been published to date. For the purpose of authenticity, only the first fourteen Oz novels originally penned by Baum himself have been included in our list.

Summary and books in the Oz series

Tags: classics, fantasy, adventure, animals, magic, friendship,
Series reading level: 9+
Books in series: 15
Should read in order? Yes
Next release: Finished

 Print series book list

Books in series order
1The Wonderful Wizard of Oz  (1900)
2The Marvelous Land of Oz  (1904)
3Ozma of Oz  (1907)
4Dorothy and the Wizard of Oz  (1908)
5The Road to Oz  (1909)
6The Emerald City of Oz  (1910)
7The Patchwork Girl of Oz  (1913)
8Tik-Tok of Oz  (1914)
9The Scarecrow of Oz  (1915)
10Rinkitink in Oz  (1916)
11The Lost Princess of Oz  (1917)
12The Tin Woodman of Oz  (1918)
13The Magic of Oz  (1919)
14Glinda of Oz  (1920)
+ Little Wizard Stories of Oz  (1913)