The Jake Maddox Girl Sports Series

by Jake Maddox (Author)

Book Cover for the Jake Maddox Girl Sports Series
Reading level: Ages 7 and up
Books in series: 34
Read in order: No
Next book: Finished
Tags: sport  dancing  friendship  girls  cartoon  realistic fiction 

Though the focus of the Jake Maddox Girls Sports is of course girls, these engaging sports stories by Jake Maddox are a hit with both boys and girls alike.

Jake Maddox Girl Sports stories are pumped-up, easy-to-read chapter books with an emphasis on athleticism, perserverance and fair play, making them perfect for reluctant or emerging readers with a passion for adventure and sport. The girls in these books face obstacles on the field, the court, the ice, or the gym mat, and meet mental and social challenges as well. Readers discover that an athlete's inner game, persistence, and courage are just as important as a steady hand or a chance for a goal. While these characters are not always perfect, they are always striving to do their best.

Written with the assistance of a host of popular children's authors and illustrators, and containing bonus material such as discussion questions and writing prompts, this series is an excellent educational resource that kids aged 7+ won't want to put down.

Recognition: Women's Sports Foundation Billie Award Nominee (2009)

Jake Maddox Girl Sports Series Books in Order

 Print series book list

1. Cheer Challenge  (2008)
2. Full Court Dreams  (2008)
3. Jump Serve  (2008)
4. Storm Surfer  (2008)
5. Running Rivals  (2008)
6. Soccer Spirit  (2008)
7. Stolen Bases  (2008)
8. Tennis Trouble  (2008)
9. Skater's Secret  (2009)
10. Horseback Hopes  (2009)
11. Over the Net  (2009)
12. Back on the Beam  (2009)
13. Ballet Bullies  (2009)
14. Half-Pipe Prize  (2009)
15. Field Hockey Firsts  (2009)
16. Hoop Doctor  (2009)
17. Cheer Captain  (2011)
18. Double-Axel Doubt  (2011)
19. Drive to the Hoop  (2011)
20. Victory Vault  (2011)
21. Gymnastics Jitters  (2012)
22. Horseback Hurdles  (2012)
23. Soccer Surprise  (2012)
24. Volleyball Dreams  (2012)
25. Skating Showdown  (2013)
26. Cheer Choice  (2013)
27. Dance Team Dilemma  (2013)
28. Rebound Time  (2013)
29. Running Scared  (2013)
30. Softball Surprise  (2014)
31. Soccer Show-Off  (2014)
32. Dancing Solo  (2014)
33. Volleyball Victory  (2016)
34. Pool Panic  (2016)