The Girl of Fire and Thorns Series

by Rae Carson (Author)

Book Cover for the Girl of Fire and Thorns Series
Reading level: Ages 13 and up
Books in series: 7
Read in order: Yes
Next book: Finished
Tags: fantasy  romance  myth & legend  mystery  magic 

Once every century, one person is chosen for greatness. But the prophecy is vague, and Elisa, always overshadowed by her accomplished older sister, has no idea why she was chosen or how she will fulfill the expectations. Her future is unknown and her potential is tremendous—even if she doesn’t realize it. A king asks her to save his troubled country. A savage enemy hunts her for its own—dead or alive. A revolutionary asks for her heart. And in the midst of ferocious battles and harsh quests, Elisa will find herself. She will find the strength she’s always possessed. She’ll find deep and abiding love. She’ll awaken the power that only she can control. And she’ll face those who want to rip all of it away.

Lush, adventurous, and wrenching, this trilogy will delight fans of Kristin Cashore’s 'Graceling' series and Tamora Pierce’s Tortall books.

"Palace intrigues, desert rebellions, kidnappings, forbidden romance, and bloody betrayals, along with not a little time at the banquet table, make The Girl of Fire and Thorns a delicious debut, even before Elisa begins to ask meaty questions about the nature of faith and her destiny in a country on the verge of war." — Paolo Bacigalupi, Printz Award-winning author of Ship Breaker.

Girl of Fire and Thorns Series Books in Order

 Print series book list

1. The Girl of Fire and Thorns  (2011)
2. The Crown of Embers  (2012)
3. The Bitter Kingdom  (2013)
4. The Empire of Dreams  (2020)
+ The Shattered Mountain  (2013)
+ The Shadow Cats  (2012)
+ The King's Guard  (2013)