The Protector of the Small Series

by Tamora Pierce (Author)

Book Cover for the Protector of the Small Series
Reading level: Ages 12 and up
Books in series: 4
Read in order: Yes
Next book: Finished
Tags: fantasy  adventure  magic 

In the medieval and fantastic realm of Tortall, Keladry of Mindelan (known as Kel) is the first girl to take advantage of the decree that permits females to train for knighthood. Up against the traditional hazing of pages and a gruelling schedule, Kel faces only one real roadblock: Lord Wyldon, the training master of pages and squires. He is absolutely against girls becoming knights. So while he is forced to train her, Wyldon puts her on probation for one year. It is a trial period that no male page has had to endure and one that separates the good-natured Kel even more from her fellow trainees during the tough first year. But Kel is not a girl to be underestimated, as everyone is about to find out!

Protector of the Small Series Books in Order

 Print series book list

1. First Test  (1999)
2. Page  (2000)
3. Squire  (2001)
4. Lady Knight  (2002)