The Animals of Farthing Wood Series

by Colin Dann (Author)

Book Cover for the Animals of Farthing Wood Series
Reading level: Ages 8 and up
Books in series: 8
Read in order: Yes
Next book: Finished
Tags: animal  fantasy  adventure  nature  classic  friendship 

A group of forest animals unite to help each other to safety in this classic tale of tolerance, cooperation, survival, and friendship. When bulldozers enter Farthing Wood, the animals must escape before their homes are destroyed. They promise to stick together and protect each other — but then they get caught in a fire and nearly drown crossing a river. Will their pact hold?

This heart-warming — and at times sorrowful — story of friendship, resilience and kindness has captured the hearts of generations of children around the world, having been translated into sixteen different languages since it's publication in 1979. Environmental concerns and animal welfare issues are subtly highlighted, with an ultimately optimistic message about our ability to show compassion for the world around us.

Animals of Farthing Wood Series Books in Order

 Print series book list

1. The Animals of Farthing Wood  (1979)
2. In the Grip of Winter  (1981)
3. Fox's Feud  (1982)
4. The Fox Cub Bold  (1986)
5. The Siege of White Deer Park  (1986)
6. In the Path of the Storm  (1989)
7. Battle for the Park  (1992)
+ Farthing Wood: The Adventure Begins  (1994)