The Misty Series

by Marguerite Henry (Author) Karen Haus Grandpre (Illustrator) Wesley Dennis (Illustrator)

Book Cover for the Misty Series
The Misty series is based on the true story of a wild pony from the island of Chincoteague. On Pony Penning Day each year, the wild ponies swim from Assateague Island to Chincoteague Island (an island closer to the mainland). These wild and spirited ponies have long captured the imagination of islanders and visitors alike.

Brother and sister, Paul and Maureen Beebe, have their hearts set on owning a wild island mare called, Phantom. They want to buy and tame her and are working hard to earn enough money to do so, however, no one has yet been able to capture her... But Pony Penning Day this year holds an unexpected turn of events.

Summary and books in the Misty series

Tags: horses & ponies, animals, classics, illustrated, adventure,
Series reading level: 8+
Books in series: 4
Should read in order? Yes
Next release: Finished

 Print series book list

Books in series order
1Misty of Chincoteague  (1947)
2Sea Star: Orphan of Chincoteague  (1920)
3Stormy, Misty's Foal  (1963)
4Misty's Twilight   (1992)