The Once Series

by Morris Gleitzman (Author)

Book Cover for the Once Series
Reading level: Ages 12 and up
Books in series: 7
Read in order: Yes
Next book: Finished
Tags: historical  war  friendship  culture  religion  realistic fiction 

Felix, a Jewish boy in Poland in 1942, is hiding from the Nazis in a Catholic orphanage. The only problem is that he doesn't know anything about the war, and thinks he's only in the orphanage while his parents travel and try to salvage their bookselling business. And when he thinks his parents are in danger, Felix sets off to warn them - straight into the heart of Nazi-occupied Poland.

To Felix, everything is a story: Why did he get a whole carrot in his soup? It must be sign that his parents are coming to get him. Why are the Nazis burning books? They must be foreign librarians sent to clean out the orphanage's outdated library. But as Felix's journey gets increasingly dangerous, he begins to see horrors that not even stories can explain. Despite his grim surroundings, Felix never loses hope. Morris Gleitzman takes a painful subject and expertly turns it into a story filled with love, friendship, and even humour, in a series which will enthrall children and engage them in an aspect of history which has often been considered too sensitive for them to understand.

Once Series Books in Order

 Print series book list

1. Once  (2006)
2. Then  (2008)
3. Now  (2010)
4. After  (2012)
5. Soon  (2015)
6. Maybe  (2017)
7. Always  (2020)