The Red Dirt Diary Series

by Katrina Nannestad (Author/Illustrator)

Book Cover for the Red Dirt Diary Series
Reading level: Ages 8 and up
Books in series: 3
Read in order: Yes
Next book: Finished
Tags: comedy & humour  cartoon  family  friendship  culture 

Blue Weston is an eleven-year-old tomboy living in Hardbake Plains in rural New South Wales. Written in a diary-format with cartoon accompaniments, in the style of 'Diary of A Wimpy Kid' or 'Dork Diaries,' this series examines life in a typical Australian farming community with tenderness and humour. Country kids will relate to the young heroine's adventures in rural Australia, as much as city-dwelling children will enjoy reading about a way of life which may be new to them.

Katrina Nannestad is responsible for both the text and illustrations, ensuring a flawless continuity in style. This hilarious series of chapter books is perfect for reluctant readers aged 8 to 12 years, and will be enjoyed by both boys and girls due to Blue's feisty tomboy nature.

Red Dirt Diary Series Books in Order

 Print series book list

1. Red Dirt Diary  (2010)
2. Blue About Love  (2012)
3. Blue's News  (2012)