The Pagan Chronicles Series

by Catherine Jinks (Author)

Book Cover for the Pagan Chronicles Series
Reading level: Ages 13 and up
Books in series: 5
Read in order: Yes
Next book: Finished
Tags: action  historical  medieval  comedy & humour  religion  war 

Pagan is a 16-year-old thief and beggar, trying to survive in 1187 medieval Jerusalem with no home or family. To find safety and escape those to whom he's indebted, Pagan joins the Knights Templar and is soon a squire-in-training to the admirable and good-hearted, Lord Roland. The irreverent Pagan must learn to fight, clean, escort pilgrims to holy areas and shrines and - most importantly - hold his tongue!

But even the life of a Lord is never as perfect as it seems. Pagan's journeys with Lord Roland will take him from Jerusalem to France to renunciation of the sword and life in an Abbey, where perfection is also in question. As Pagan grows and matures, his experiences lead him from apprentice to mentor, and to situations in which he must re-evaluate all his previously held values and ideals.

This action-packed and humorous series is narrated in Pagan's sarcastic and witty voice. It is loaded with down-and-dirty details of medieval times and brings to life Medieval Jerusalem and the Crusades.

Pagan Chronicles Series Books in Order

 Print series book list

1. Pagan's Crusade  (1992)
2. Pagan in Exile  (1994)
3. Pagan's Vows  (1995)
4. Pagan's Scribe  (1995)
5. Pagan's Daughter  (2006)