The Inheritance Cycle Series

by Christopher Paolini (Author)

Book Cover for the Inheritance Cycle Series
Reading level: Ages 12 and up
Books in series: 5
Read in order: Yes
Next book: Finished
Tags: fantasy  adventure  dragon  magic  myth & legend  epic fantasy 

Fifteen-year-old Eragon believes that he is merely a poor farm boy - until his destiny as a Dragon Rider is revealed. Gifted with only an ancient sword, a loyal dragon, and sage advice from an old storyteller, the young hero Eragon is soon swept into a dangerous tapestry of magic, glory, and power. Now his choices could save - or destroy - the Empire of Alagaesia...

Inheritance Cycle Series Books in Order

 Print series book list

1. Eragon  (2002)
2. Eldest  (2005)
3. Brisingr  (2008)
4. Inheritance  (2011)
+ Eragon's Guide to Alagaesia  (2009)