The Charlie Bucket Series

by Roald Dahl (Author) Quentin Blake (Illustrator)

Book Cover for the Charlie Bucket Series
Reading level: Ages 8 and up
Books in series: 2
Read in order: Yes
Next book: Finished
Tags: adventure  fantasy  comedy & humour  illustrated  family 

Charlie Bucket lives with his mother and father and his four grandparents. He loves his family very much, but sometimes he wishes his grandparents wouldn't snore so loudly. He is especially close to Grandpa Joe because, together, they share a secret love for chocolate. Charlie and Grandpa Joe have both heard about the super-amazing, completely splendiferous, once-in-a-lifetime competition that Mr Willy Wonka - the most wondrous inventor in the world - has announced. Mr Wonka will be opening the gates of his amazing chocolate factory to five lucky children and their five lucky guardians. It's the prize of a lifetime! Gobstoppers, wriggle sweets and a river of melted chocolate delight await – Charlie needs just one Golden Ticket and this incredible experience could be his. But with every other child in the world searching for a Golden Ticket too, what chance does has Charlie have?

Charlie Bucket Series Books in Order

 Print series book list

1. Charlie and the Chocolate Factory  (1964)
2. Charlie and the Great Glass Elevator  (1972)